O Trem das Onze

One of the most famous Brazilian songs ever

Original

Não posso ficar
Nem mais um minuto com você
Sinto muito, amor
Mas não pode ser

Moro em Jaçanã
Se eu perder esse trem
Que sai agora, às 11 horas
Só amanhã de manhã

E além disso mulher
Tem outra coisa
Minha mãe não dorme
Enquanto eu não chegar
Sou filho único
Tenho minha casa p’ra olhar

Translation

I can’t stay
Not even another minute with you
I am sorry, honey
But it can not be

I live in Jaçanã
If I miss this train
That leaves now at 11 PM
Only tomorrow morning

And besides that, woman
There’s another thing
My mother doesn’t sleep
Until I get home
I’m an only child
I have my house to look after

Hermeto Pascoal’s version

One Comment on “O Trem das Onze”

  1. Scott Lacy says:

    If you follow links on Hermeto Pascoal video you can find some amazing (interesting at least) videos of what he has done with the ordinary world to make music.

    I think “Musica da Lagoa” is pretty nifty and something I have thought fun to do with bottles:

    or if you want something a little less… main stream, try this video:


Leave a Reply

